Tuesday 26th of March 2019

Rizhao Section of the Ruins of the Great Wall of the Qi Kingdom
  Release time: 2017-06-24

Rizhao Section of the Ruins of the Great Wall of the Qi Kingdom is located in both Ju County and Wulian County. The Great Wall of the Qi Kingdom starts from Changqing District of Jinan City, connects the eight cities i.e. Jinan, Tai’an, Zibo, Laiwu, Weifang, Linyi, Rizhao, and Qingdao together, and joins into the sea in the Huangdao District of Qingdao City, thus stretching over a thousand miles from east to west. The length of the Qi Great Wall in Rizhao City is about 70 kilometers. The section in Ju County winds across 17 hills with the length of about 16 kilometers. It is also divided into two smaller sections: the west section in east-west direction entering Ju County from southeast of Duozhuang Village of Yishui County and the north section in south-north direction entering Ju County from Guangguang Hill. These two sections join together and extend to Wulian County in northwest - southeast direction. The section in Wulian County is about 54 kilometers long, with three smaller sections in Dongyunmen of Wanghu Town, behind Qianchangchengling Village and in Zhangbanggou of Songbai Town better preserved. The Qi Great Wall was first built in the Spring and Autumn Period, and completed in the Warring States Period, for the purpose of resisting the invasion of the kingdoms of Lu, Jin, and Chu separately. The Great Wall built in the southern border area of ancient Qi Dynasty keeps the walls as the main body, and includes facilities like passes, castles, beacons and ancient traffic thoroughfares. The Great Wall of Qi was approved as Historical and Cultural Relics Protection Unit at provincial level by Revolutionary Committee of Shandong Province in 1977, incorporated into the list of World Cultural Heritage in 1987, and designated as key Historical and Cultural Protection Site at national level by the State Council in 2001.